A Letter To All Who Hurt!

Standard

File Jul 28, 11 53 30 PM

I  believe we are living in troublesome times, and many people are in terrible pain and need someone to pray for them. I have asked Jesus to allow me the honor of sharing His love with you especially during this Christmas season when we all need the words that bring hope. I want to be able “to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort which I also received from God.” (2 Corinthians 1:4)

You may be in the darkest valley of your life right now.  It may because of a broken relationship, or the loss of a loved one. Perhaps there has been a newly diagnosed disease, financial problems, or you won’t be able to be with someone you love for Christmas and your heart just aches. ALL of these can be causing you to grieve.

I have been there too, and have traveled through many dark valleys. Your valley may be different, but it really doesn’t matter, because the grief and pain you are going through is the result of your loss, and it hurts so badly you feel like you it won’t ever end. I want you to know that I hear the cry of your heart, and I am with you in spirit. I am praying for you, I am weeping with you. (Romans 12:15)

     I know how much you ache, especially in the night-time when the loneliness seems to magnify. I know that your pain does not leave you despite a change of location or of company. You may be in a large crowd of people, and you can still feel incredibly lonely. I know how heartbreaking it is to watch your family going through the valley as well. You long to see them healed quickly, and you break apart when they suffer alongside of you. I know how it feels to come to the realization that you cannot make it get better. Only God can heal such deep spiritual pain. I know how it feels to come home to an empty house, how fear can envelop you, how mentally spent you are feeling, and how very tired your body feels. I also know that is when your thoughts attack you with the fiery arrows of anger, guilt, depression, resentment, anxiety, fear and all of the “what if” questions. It’s like being on a merry-go-round, it never seems to stop spinning around and around, and  it is affecting your health and well-being.

When all the questions start to bombard your mind, you wish you could ask God, “WHY?”  I never received an answer for many of my questions, I only know that His Spirit taught me things I never could have learned except in the valley of the shadow. There is a hope that never leaves me, and there would not even be a shadow without the existence of light. This light is Jesus Christ, who is THE Light of the world, (John 8:12), and the reason why we celebrate and remember His birth!

Jesus was the only one ever born to suffer one day on a cross, and NOTHING that we ever go through can compare with the pain that Jesus endured, so that we might one day be saved. Somehow in this valley you learn what it means to “liken yourself” to this merciful Savior of ours, and you begin to experience “the peace that surpasses all understanding,” (Philipians 4:7).

If you will talk to Him while you are in your valley and you read His words of hope, you will begin to feel renewed inside as you step out in faith and trust Him, just as His disciple Peter did when he stepped out of the boat, and walked on water with His Creator.

When you allow Jesus to use you to help others who are in the valley, you learn the true meaning of sharing in the fellowship of His sufferings, and of following in His footsteps, and carrying your cross. (Matthew 16:24)

     It is not time that will heal you, it is LOVE that heals you, and God is love. (1 John 4:16) He has given us His Son Jesus Christ, and He can and wants to be the balm that heals you, the comforter who brings warmth, the husband who provides, the shelter who protects, the lover who never abandons, the closest friend you will ever know here on earth.

     But you must ask Him, and you must be willing to receive the gift of salvation and the healing that He desires to give to you. I have faith that you will do this one day, and by reading this letter that I have written, my hope is that you will understand that there are many others who need to be told of the lessons you have learned in your valley. I hope that your faith will begin to grow, and that even if it is only as big as a mustard seed, you will know that nothing will be impossible for you. (Matthew 17:20)

The Lord Jesus Christ cares for you dearly, and His Spirit prompted me to write this to you because He wants you to press on and never give up hope, because “hope deferred will make your heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.” (Proverbs 13:12).

I pray that after you read this, you will write these words down and put them where you will be able to read them everyday. “If you have everything but Christ, you have NOTHING, but if you have nothing but Christ, you have EVERYTHING!” Everything that you need to get through this valley will be given to you, if you only ask. (Matthew 7:8) If you will receive God’s greatest gift to mankind during this Christmas Season, you will be enabled by His Spirit to endure your pain, no matter what comes to pass in this new year.

     I love you in Christ, my family and friends, and my prayer is that Jesus will fill you with His faith, His hope, but most of all overflow you with His LOVE!!!!  May God bless and keep you! 

7 thoughts on “A Letter To All Who Hurt!

  1. Judy Messner

    Oh my Sweet Jesus! Linda, this is an awesome letter! Should reach everyone, everywhere! So excited for you and your sharing your journey and your heart with us! God bless you, my Sister! I love you! BTW, I am ok!
    Judy M.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Martha Donaldson

    Oh Linda God uses you to be a Word of soothing balm to my heart, an encouragement to my soul and rest for my mind. thank you dear friend and I am praying for you and yours. Love you much. mart

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

