Rain on Me!

Standard

2015-10-24 11.58.00

Today in Florida it poured buckets of rain all afternoon. After a long, dry spell, the temperatures dropped to a far more comfortable level for this woman! As I watched the grass, trees, and plants in our yard come back to life, it reminded me so much of how God’s word accomplishes the exact same thing in my spirit whenever this world with all of its troubles and trials dry me up!

The word of God is so reviving and refreshing to my soul, like a shower of cool rain on a hot summer day. His words descend like gentle dew and cause me to feel as though I have been sitting in His presence in the mercy seat. His instruction falls on my ears and into my heart so tenderly, that I feel growth and life while I’m in His presence. Just as the plant in this photo is defined by the drops of the dew clinging to it, so too, my life is defined by the words God says to me, and the choices I make concerning His teachings! As God reveals the virtues of His character to me, I realize that I want to attain these attributes as His daughter, and I choose to be more merciful, more loving, and more compassionate towards those who are hurting and feel lost!

     When I received God’s gift of salvation 25 years ago, I remember the change that happened immediately inside of my mind, and in my heart. I had an insatiable desire to thoroughly know the word of God! I would sit on my couch for hours at a time and read the Bible, because my soul was so dried up that I was very ready for a change in my life. Rain is simply the condensation of water vapor in the air, which falls in drops to the earth. I literally wanted God to shower me with the words He inspired to be written down for impoverished sinners like me. Dew is condensation of water droplets that form invisibly on the surfaces of objects on the ground that are exposed, and so does the gift of His grace which softens the hardness of my heart. Similar to a wilted plant refreshed by drops of dew, my exhausted soul is refreshed by the dew of heaven as it clings to me. When the Lord sheds His love abroad in my heart, I spring up like a plant that bears fruit for the kingdom of God.

     Far too many churches are teaching false doctrines and promising financial showers of  blessings to all who are willing to “sow seed” into their ministries, but true blessings from God rain down on us every day and refresh us as the dew on green plants. When God truly blesses a person, it is much more than anything monetary or physical. His most important blessing is the free gift of salvation that He offers to all who ask!  Knowing Christ in a personal relationship has been “the rain” of an overall sense of safety, and gives me hope, peace, and a joyful life. I am not saying that God never blesses us in a physical way, because I have been the recipient of His material blessings as well as the spiritual ones. I will never forget getting a phone call from my boss a few days before my birthday one year. She nonchalantly let me know that they had decided to bless me with a brand new car, because they wanted me to have a reliable, comfortable car while driving back and forth from Virginia to Maine.

     We have many blessings as a nation as well to enjoy daily that we tend to forget when the slightest thing goes wrong. We have the freedom to worship God as we choose, we have food in our stomachs, clean water from a tap, roofs over our heads, doctors to care for us, and so many benefits from living in a democratic society that was founded on the teachings in the word of God. Just as a good father longs to give his children good gifts, so too, our heavenly Father longs to bless us with every spiritual blessing. His blessings literally reach out, grab hold of us, and surround us as we walk in obedience with Him. I have no doubt that the greatest of all the blessings that God has given to people in this world is His inspired word. I really have no reason to be discouraged or disappointed when it comes to God’s blessings in my life. As a daughter of the King of the Universe I have a much clearer understanding of God’s will for me, and the hope of eternity to spend with Him sitting at His feet and learning from Him! Below are the words written by Daniel W. Whittle in the 1800’s called “There Will Be Showers of Blessing.”

There shall be showers of blessing: This is the promise of love;

There shall be seasons refreshing, Sent from the Savior above.

CHORUS

Showers of blessing, Showers of blessing we need: Mercy drops round us are falling, But for the showers we plead.

There shall be showers of blessing, Precious reviving again; Over the hills and the valleys, Sound of abundance of rain.

There shall be showers of blessing; Send them upon us, O Lord;Grant to us now a refreshing, Come, and now honor Thy Word.

There shall be showers of blessing: Oh, that today they might fall, Now as to God we’re confessing, Now as on Jesus we call!

There shall be showers of blessing, If we but trust and obey; There shall be seasons refreshing, If we let God have His way[1]

 Following Jesus the Christ is always a time of refreshment in my life, and the most satisfying “shower” I have ever taken!

 

[1] Daniel Webster Whittle, 1883; There Will Be Showers of Blessing; Copyright: Public Domain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Rain on Me!

Leave a Reply

